Mies van der Rohe Award 2022 shortlist revealed

ByDavid M. Conte

Jan 18, 2022

David Chipperfield’s restoration of Berlin’s Neue Nationalgalerie, a memorial park on the site of a former synagogue and a visitor center by Dorte Mandrup are among the 40 European projects shortlisted for this year’s Mies van der Rohe Prize.

The biannual European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award is named after the modernist architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.

It is usually awarded by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe to the best European architectural project carried out in the last two years. However, the 2022 edition will feature works from the last 2.5 years, as the coronavirus pandemic has delayed the award.

Above: Kingston University – Town House by Grafton Architects is on the shortlist. The photo is by Dennis Gilbert. Top image: just like Dorte Mandrup’s Wadden Sea Center. The photo is by Adam Mork

This year, the shortlisted works are in 18 different European countries. Austria, France and Spain have the most shortlisted projects – five each – followed by Belgium, Germany and the UK, with three projects each.

Denmark, Finland, Poland and Portugal have two shortlisted works and the Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania and Slovenia each have one project.

Prague waterfront revitalization
The revitalization of Prague’s shores by Petr Janda is on the list. Photo is by BoysPlayNice

Projects located in the UK are currently still on the shortlist – as are two projects in the EU designed by UK studios – despite the country leaving the EU via Brexit, meaning they are not more eligible for the award.

“As the [EU Mies Award/YTAA ] is an EU-funded initiative, we are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union,” reads a statement on the award’s website. Mies van der Rohe.

“If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the UK withdrawal, it is unintentional and will be addressed.”

Dezeen has reached out to Price for clarification.

The majority of pre-selected projects this year are collective housing projects, with nine programs of this type.

There are seven shortlisted cultural buildings and six mixed-use buildings on the list.

Enrico Fermi school
The Enrico Fermi School of BDR Bureau is the only Italian project shortlisted. The photo is by Simone Bossi

The shortlist was chosen by a jury consisting of architect Tatiana Bilbao, journalist and curator Francesca Ferguson, architect Mia Hägg, art historian Triin Ojari, architect Georg Pendl, of the former deputy mayor of Thessaloniki Spiros Pengas and the architect Marcel Smets.

Five finalists for the prize will be announced on February 16, with the architecture and emerging winners revealed in mid-April. The EU Mies Awards Day, where the awards ceremony will take place, will take place at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona in May.

Sports center in Barcelona
Turó de la Peira Sports Center by Arquitectura Anna Noguera and J2J Architects. The photo is by Enric Duch

Sustainability and inclusiveness were among the elements the jury considered this year.

“One of the main elements of architectural sustainability is the long lifespan of buildings,” Smets said. “If we build new buildings, we have to consider their next life, enable their next life.”

“The pandemic has further changed our view of architecture and our way of life. Personally, I think it is extremely important to highlight something where collective life is central and, perhaps, where there is also has a certain sense of the local. Not only the global but also the local, because people have recently rediscovered the importance of their immediate surroundings.”

High-profile projects vying for the award include David Chipperfield’s renovation of the Mies van der Rohe-designed Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin, Petr Jandr’s revitalization of Prague’s waterfront and the University of Kingston by Grafton Architects in London, which won the 2021 Stirling Prize.

Read on for the full list of the 40 finalists sorted by country:

› Atelierhaus C.21, by Werner Neuwirth
› Neustift school campus, by Fasch & Fuchs Architekten
› Revitalization of a townhouse, by Mia2 Architektur
› Gleis 21, by Einszueins Architektur
› New Gallery and Casemates / New Bastion, by Bevk Perovic Arhitekti

Neue Galerie und Kasematten by Bevk Perovic Arhitekti
Neue Galerie und Kasematten is one of the three shortlisted German projects. The photo is by David Schreyer

› Gare Maritime, by Neutelings Riedijk Architects
› Melopee multipurpose school building, by Xaveer de Geyter Architects
› Z33 House for contemporary art, design and architecture by Francesco Torzo

Czech Republic:
› Prague Eyes – Riverfront Revitalization, by Petr Janda

› Wadden Sea Center, by Dorte Mandrup
› Malt Factory, by Praksis, VMB Restoration Architects, Kirstine Jensen Landscape Architecture, Morten Skovmand Artist and Henry Jensen Engineers

› Tikkurila Church and Dwellings, by OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture
› Renovation and extension of the Helsinki Olympic Stadium, by KS2 Architects Ltd and Arkkitehdit NRT

Student residence in France
Five French projects have been pre-selected, including the Student Residence and the Reversible Parking Lot. The photo is by Maxime Delvaux

› Nursery and Primary School, by Atelier Julien Boidot
› White Stones Cultural Center, by RAUM
› Railway Farm, Grand Huit and Mélanie Drevet Landscaper
› Vertical Farm, by Ilimelgo and Secousses Architectes
› Student residence and reversible parking, by Baukunst and Bruther

› Frizz 23, by Deadline (Britta Jürgens + Matthew Griffin)
› Housing rack/Prefabricated house in Berlin, by FAR frohn&rojas
› Neue Nationalgalerie, by David Chipperfield Architects

› Dexamenes Seaside Hotel, by K-Studio

› Extension and reconstruction of the Vizafogó kindergarten, by Archikon

› Enrico Fermi School, by BDR Bureau

LocHal Public Library, by Civic Architects, Braaksma & Roos architectenbureau and Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse
The LocHal public library has also been shortlisted. The photo is by Stijn Bollaert

The Netherlands:
› LocHal Public Library, by Civic Architects, Braaksma & Roos architectenbureau and Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse

› Vindmøllebakken, by Helen & Hard

› Center for local activities, by Marlena Wolnik MWArchitekci
› Great Synagogue Memorial Park, by Narchitektura/Bartosz Haduch

› Palace of the Marquês de Abrantes, by Ateliermob
› Portas do Mar – public space and car park, by Carrilho da Graça Arquitectos

› Apartment building Mumuleanu 14/Urban Spaces, by ADN Birou de Arhitectura

› Ptuj Market Square, by Arhitektura Krušec and Studio AKKA

› Turó de la Peira sports center and development of the interior urban block, by Arquitectura Anna Noguera and J2J architectes
› Recovery of the Merola Tower, by Carles Enrich Studio
› La Borda – Housing cooperative, by Lacol
› Fabra & Coats & Social Housing, by Roldán + Berengué Arquitectes
› 85 social housing units in Cornellà, by Peris + Toral Arquitectes

Carmody Groarke's Hill House Box built around Charles Rennie Mackintosh's Hill House
Although no longer part of the EU, three UK projects have been shortlisted, including Hill House Box. The photo is by Johan Dehlin

› Hill House box, by Carmody Groarke
› Second Home Offices in Holland Park, by SelgasCano
› Townhouse, Kingston University, by Grafton Architects