Texas High School Media Department Wins Three Gold Stars in Top State Awards, Only School To Do It

TEXARKANA, Texas – The yearbook, print journal, and online journal produced by students at Texas High School were recognized with top state awards by the Interschool League press conference.

The Tiger Directory was one of four in Texas to receive a Gold Star, while the Tiger Times online newspaper was one of five in the state to win a Gold Star and the Tiger Print newspaper. Times was one of six to receive the Gold Star.

Texas High School was the only school in Texas to receive three gold stars for its outstanding achievements in student newspapers and yearbooks.

Eight student staff were awarded Tops in Texas by ILPC for their work.

To win a Tops in Texas award, a student journalist, or group of student journalists, must first win a first place award in their respective UIL rankings. Then their work must win the first place in a competition of other first place winners of the UIL ranking.

Texas High School students receiving Tops in Texas are:

Meredith Green, Kayla Teague and Haley Wood – Selection of themes;

St̩phanie Jumper and Peyton Sims РPhotostory;

Caden Rainwater – Sports column, online sports photo report;

Aislyn Echols – Editorial page design;

Peyton Sims – Online Portrait.

In addition, 34 students won a total of 93 awards of excellence for their efforts in an online directory, journal and journal.

They are:

Bethany Arnold: Honorable Mention Sports Action Photo;

Carrigan Brush: third place Sports Spread;

Will Carter: first ranking Clubs / Organizations; Second place Featured history of clubs / organizations;

Cayli Clack: second in Feature Spread; second place Student Life Spread; honorable mention Légendes;

Ellison Davis: third place Sports Spread;

Logan Diggs: honorable mention in feature writing; honorable mention Video history;

Aislyn Echols: # 1 in Editorial Page Design; second place for the design of editorial pages; second place in personal opinion column; honorable mention Editorial writing; honorable mention Online editorial writing;

Abby Elliott: second place in the photo portfolio; second place Photo slideshow; honorable mention General news photo online;

Meredith Green: first theme selection;

Graci Henard: second place in online editorial writing; second place in the online sports column;

Reagan Hickerson: Honorable Mention Personality Profile;

Olivia Huckabee: Honorable Mention Sports Feature Story;

Raven Ivory: third place Index Spread;

Stéphanie Jumper: first place Feature Page Design, first place Photo Story; second place for the in-depth news and reporting package; second place News article; second in writing online stories; honorable mention personal chronicle; Honorable Mention Personal Column Online; honorable mention Personal opinion column online;

Doug Kyles: third place Reporting; third place Design of news pages; honorable mention History of sports news online;

EmmaGrace Kuhl: third photo from online sports report;

Reese Langdon: First Place Infographic / Sidebar;

Assad Malik: third place Video story; honorable mention Multimedia Package; honorable mention Video history;

Macy Maynard: first online news article;

Braden McKinnon: first prize in sports page design; third place Sports New Story;

Margaret Mutoke: first place in the personal column;

Endsley Norman: third place Sports Spread;

Katey Pappas: first place Infographic / Sidebar;

Evelyn Patterson: first place in the Club / Organization ranking;

Caden Rainwater: First Place Featured Photo; first place in the sports column; first place Sports report photo; second place Page One News Magazine Design; second place for the online photo portfolio; second place Portrait; second place Sports Action Photo; third place Portrait online; third place Sports report photo; honorable mention Multimedia Package;

Alex Reed: second place for academic reporting; honorable mention History of student life;

Cate Rounds: second place for in-depth news and feature articles; third place news writing; honorable mention History of sports news online;

Zoe Rushing: second in online reporting writing;

Lily Sewell: third place on the index gap; honorable mention Personality profile;

Peyton Sims: First Place General News Photo; the first place of the set of news / detailed articles; first place Portrait online; first place Photo Story; first place Portrait; second place for the news / detailed article package; second place Page One News Magazine Design; second place Photo slideshow; Third place Photo of the club / organization; third place Featured Photo Online; third place Photo Story; third place Video story; honorable mention Multimedia package (2); honorable mention Online news functionality; honorable mention Online photo portfolio;

Allyson Smith: second place in computer art online; second place Student work online; third place Featured photo; third place Student artwork online; third place Student art; Honorable Mention Computer Art Online; honorable mention Student Art;

Kayla Teague: first thematic selection;

Haley Wood: first theme selection;

Mary Claire Wright: second place Academic Spread;

Full staff: second place for ad design; second place in directory titles.